Staff

 

Professors

 

 

Prof dr. ir. Christian Stevens

Chris.Stevens@UGent.be

Research topics:

Heterocyclic Synthesis
Microreactor Technology 
Chemical modification of Renewable Resources

+32 9 264 5957 Photo Prof Chris Stevens

Prof dr. ir. Matthias D'hooghe

Matthias.Dhooghe@UGent.be

Research topics:

Heterocyclic chemistry
Synthesis of bioactive compounds

+32 9 264 9394 Photo Prof. Matthias D'hooghe

Prof dr. ir. Sven Mangelinckx

Sven.Mangelinckx@UGent.be

Research topics:

Chemistry of non-proteinogenic amino acids
Chemistry of small-membered azaheterocycles
Isolation, analysis and synthesis of bioactive natural products

+32 9 264 5951 Photo Sven Mangelinckx
Postdoctoral researchers

Dr. ing. Bart Roman

Bart1.Roman@UGent.be

Research topic:

Development of N-Cadherin Antagonists as Antimetastatic Agents

+32 9 264 5918 Foto Bart Roman

Dr. ir. Thomas Heugebaert

Thomas.Heugebaert@UGent.be

Research topic:

Development of highly efficient gas/liquid photomicroreactor systems

 

+32 9 264 9378 Foto Thomas Heugebaert

Dr. ir Karen Mollet

Karen.Mollet@UGent.be

Research topic:

Stereoselective synthesis of beta-lactams and their use in multicom-
ponent reactions

+32 9 264 5964 Foto Karen Mollet
Assisting academic personnel

ir. Jan Berton

Jan.Berton@UGent.be

Research topic:

Synthesis and reactivity study of aminoallenylphosphonates

+32 9 264 9925 Foto Jan Berton

ir. Rob De Vreese

Rob.DeVreese@UGent.be

Research topic:

Synthesis of functionalized hydroxamic acids as novel 
HDAC6 inhibitors

+32 9 264 5860

Foto Rob De Vreese

ir. Tamara Meiresonne

Tamara.Meiresonne@UGent.be

Research topic:

Synthesis of new fluorinated and non-fluorinated amino acid derivatives

 

+32 9 264 9378 Foto Tamara Meiresonne

ir. Stein Mincke

Stein.Mincke@UGent.be

Research topic:

Sustainable chemical modifications of biopolymers

 

+32 9 264 5964 Foto Stein Mincke
PhD students & Scientific personnel

ir. Elias Bonneure

Eli.Bonneure@UGent.be

Research topic:

Identification and structural-functional validation of diatom pheromones for the
study of sex signaling and life cycle evolution in pennate diatoms

 

+32 9 264 5918 Elias Bonneure

ir. Hang Dao Thi

Hang.DaoThi@UGent.be

Research topic:

Generation and application of 2-oxoazetidin-4yl anions for the construction
of new, biologically relevant C-, N- and spiro-fused beta-lactams

+32 9 264 5860 Hang Dao Thi

ir. Wouter Debrouwer

Wouter.Debrouwer@UGent.be

Research topic:

Synthesis of phosphonylated azadienes as building block for
azaheterocyclic phophonates

+32 9 264 9925 Foto Wouter De Brouwer

ir. Laurens De Coen

Laurens.DeCoen@UGent.be

Research topic:

Synthesis of novel and drug-like compound libraries for screening
across a broad range of therapeutic areas

 

+32 9 264 5962 Foto Laurens De Coen

ir. Lena Decuyper

Lena.Decuyper@UGent.be

Research topic:

Synthesis and evaluation of new inhibitors of penicillin-binding proteins from
resistant bacteria en route to new antibacterial agents

+32 9 264 5964 Lena Decuyper

ir. Elisabeth Delbeke

Elisabeth.Delbeke@UGent.be

Research topic:

Innovative sophorolipide and rahmnolipide analogues with tailor-made
physicochemical properties

 

+32 9 264 9925 Foto Elisabeth Delbeke

ir. Yves Depetter

Yves.Depetter@UGent.be

Research topic:

Design and development of new selective HDAC6 inhibitors with applications in
cancer therapy

 

+32 9 264 5860 Yves Depetter

ir. Jeroen Dolfen

Jeroen.Dolfen@UGent.be

Research topic:

New entries into valuable azaheterocyclic compounds via selective
rearrangement of functionalized aziridines and azetidines

+32 9 264 5918 Foto Jeroen Dolfen

M.Sc. Sandra Giraldo Clemente

Sandra.GiraldoClemente@UGent.be

Research topic:

Synthesis and bioactivity of humulone derivatives

 

+32 9 264 5860 Sandra Giraldo Clemente

Ir. Geert Janssens

 

Research topic:

Development of a method for the detection of the abuse of natural
hormones with bovines by means of GC/C/IRMS

No picture available

M.Sc. Matthias Moens

Matthias.Moens@UGent.be

Research topic:

New strategies for the synthesis of fluorinated hetero- and carbocyclic
systems

 

+32 9 264 5859 Foto Matthias Moens

ir. Marine Movsisyan

Mamovsis.Movsisyan@UGent.be

Research topic:

Exploration of continuous flow strategies for the valorisation of renewable
resources

 

+32 9 264 5962 Foto Marine Movsisyan

ir. Koen Muylaert

K.Muylaert@UGent.be

Research topic:

Synthesis of novel and drug-lie compound libraries for screening across
a broad range of therapeutic areas

 

+32 9 264 5859 Foto Koen Muylaert

M.Sc. Anka Pejovic

Anka.Pejovic@UGent.be

Research topic:

Aza-Michael additions of aromatic amines to conjugated ketones toward
the synthesis of new and biologically interesting ferrocene derivatives

 

Foto Anka Pejovic

ir. Nicola Piens

Nicola.Piens@UGent.be

Research topic:

Synthesis of new beta-lactam compounds and assessment of
their chemical reactivity and biological applications

+32 9 264 5964 Foto Nicola Piens

ir. Ewout Ruysbergh

Ewout.Ruysbergh@UGent.be

Research topic:

Study of fatty acid modifications and metabolism on the activity of
quorum sensing molecules and lipopeptides produced by Pseudomonas spp

 

+32 9 264 5859 Foto Ewout Ruysbergh

M.Sc. Gustavo Scalone

GustavoLuisLeonardo.Scalone@UGent.be

Research topic:

 

 

+32 9 264 5964 Foto Gustavo Scalone

ir. Sofie Seghers

Sofie.Seghers@UGent.be

Research topic:

Mesoporous silicas and zeolites as heterogeneous catalyst for micro- and
millireactor technology

 

+32 9 264 5964 Foto Sofie Seghers

ir. Elena Semina

Elena.Semina@UGent.be

Research topic:

Study of biologically relevant functionalized amino acid derivatives:
synthesis and isolation

 

+32 9 264 5860 Foto Elena Semina

M.Sc. Michail Syrpas

Michail.Syrpas@UGent.be

Research topic:

Isolation, identification and functional characterisation of bioactive
metabolites and quorum sensing systems in diatoms

 

+32 9 264 5859 Foto Michail Syrpas

ir. Melissa Van Overtveldt

Melissa.VanOvertveldt@UGent.be

Research topic:

Synthesis of strigolactone and karrikin analogues by gold mediated
cyclisation

 

+32 9 264 5918 Melissa Van Overtveldt

ir. Sigrid Verhasselt

Sigrid.Verhasselt@UGent.be

Research topic:

Development of small-molecule inhibitors of nonmuscle myosin II as
chemical tools and antimetastatic therapeutics

 

+32 9 264 9925 Foto Sigrid Verhasselt

ir. Arno Verlee

Arno.Verlee@UGent.be

Research topic:

Alleviating oxidative stress effects via innovative gold catalysis for an improved
biomass production

+32 9 264 5918 Foto Arno Verlee

ir. Iris Wauters

Iris.Wauters@UGent.be

Research topic:

Diversity oriented synthesis based on the bevianamide scaffold for the
development of physiologically active compounds

 

+32 9 264 5962 Foto Iris Wauters

Technical staff

Els Van Hende

Els.VanHende@UGent.be

 

+32 9 264 6237 Foto Els Van Hende

Pieter Zwaenepoel

Pieter.Zwaenepoel@UGent.be

 

+32 9 264 5870 Foto Pieter Zwaenepoel
Administrative staff

Ans Van Nieuwenhuyse

Ans.VanNieuwenhuyse@UGent.be

 

+32 9 264 9379 Ans Van Nieuwenhuyse
Former PhD students & scientific personnel

M.Sc. Annick Bossou

 

Research topic:

Chemical study and biological activities (insect repellent, insecticide,
antiplasmodial) of plant extract from Benin

Foto Annick Bossou

Ir. Davy Cappoen

 

Research topic:

Discovery and biological evaluation of novel heterocyclic antitubercular
drug candidates

No picture available

Dr. ir Filip Colpaert

 

Research topic:
N-tert-Butanesulfinyl imidates as novel building blocks in the synthesis of
bioactive compounds

Foto Filip Colpaert

ir. Cédric Maton

 

Research topic:

Development of peralkylated imidazolium ionic liquids for materials
processing

 

Foto Cédric Maton

ir. Nils De Vos

 

Research topic:

Development of azabicyclic ionic liquids for materials processing

 

Foto Nils De Vos

M.Sc. Matteo Ciprian

 

Research topic:

Development of a chemical heat pump for low value heat valorization

Foto Matteo Ciprian

ir. Stijn De Brabandere

 

Research topic:

New applications of N-sulfinyl imines in the synthesis of heterocyclic
compounds and amino acid derivatives

Foto Stijn De Brabandere

ing. Ruben De Poortere

 

Research topic:

Enzyme and Cavitation technology for sustainable degumming of
vegetable oils

Foto Ruben De Poortere

M.Sc. Martyna Jatczak

 

Research topic:

Synthesis of novel and drug-like compound libraries for screening
across a broad range of therapeutic areas

Foto Martyna Jatczak

Dr. Jean-Christophe Monbaliu

 

Research topic:

Synthesis of highly efficient gas/liquid photomicroreactor systems

Jean-Christophe Monbaliu

Dr. ir Yahya Nural

 

Research topic;
Asymmetric synthesis of conformationally constrained cyclic diamino acid
derivatives and their application in the asymmetric synthesis of new potential
biologically active diamino acid derivatives

Foto Yahya Nural

Dr. ir. Lydia Protasova

 

Research topic:

Enhancing reaction speed in continuous flow by excess reagent

No picture available

Dr. Klicia Sampaio

 

Research topic:

Enzyme and Cavitation technology for sustainable degumming of
vegetable oils

Foto Klicia Sampaio

Dr. Junko Tsukamoto

 

Research topic:

Enzyme and Cavitation technology for sustainable degumming of
vegetable oils

Foto Junko Tsukamoto

ir. Stéphanie Vandekerckhove

 

Research topic:

New approaches towards functionalized quinolines with
antimalarial and/or antifungal properties

Foto Stéphanie Vandekerckhove

ir. Frederik Van Waes

 

Research topic:

Continuous Flow technology for reactions difficult to scale-up

Foto Frederik Van Waes