About us

The Department of Applied Physics (EA17) consists of three research units:

  • The Research Unit Plasma Technology (RUPT) focuses on the physics and applications of non-thermal or “cold” plasmas.
  • The Research Unit Nuclear Fusion studies the high temperature plasmas occurring in magnetic confinement fusion machines (tokamaks and stellarators).
  • The research group Molecular Modelling investigates interactions at the nanoscale and chemical kinetics of industrial processes by means of multiscale modelling.

The department is responsible for the physics courses in the bachelor curriculum of the Faculty of Engineering and Architecture, as well as several master courses. On the European scene, the department is coordinator and one of the seven participating universities of the Erasmus Mundus Master in Nuclear Fusion Science and Engineering Physics.


More about us ...