Elections of rector and vice-rector: towards a second cycle of voting

(12-05-2017) In the fifth round, none of the duos achieved a two-thirds majority. The electoral procedure will be resumed more rapidly, starting from 29 May.

Rik Van de Walle and Mieke Van Herreweghe achieved 58,10% of the votes, Guido Van Huylenbroeck and Sarah De Saeger 32,57%.

There was a record number of voters in the fifth round. For example, 80% of the professors (ZAP), 48% of the assistants (AAP) and 64% of the administrative and technical staff (ATP) have voted. 24% of the students cast their vote. The number of blank votes increased to 9.32%.

 

 

Evolution of the results:

Rik Van de Walle and Mieke Van Herreweghe Guido Van Huylenbroeck and Sarah De Saeger
1d       round 57.76% 36.20%
2nd round 59.62% 35.94%
3d round 58.18% 35.95%
4th round 58.69% 34.11%
5th round 58.10% 32.57%

 

Second cycle of voting

The electoral procedure will be resumed more rapidly, starting from 29 May The same electoral rules will apply. Candidates must come up as duo, and within each duo there must be gender equilibrium. Both staff and students can vote. The duo which achieves a two-thirds majority of the votes, is elected.

New candidates can present themselves from Monday 29 May (9:00) until Wednesday 31 May (12:00).
  • The first round of voting: Monday June 19th (08:00) until Tuesday 20 June (08:00)
  • The second round of voting: Wednesday 21 June (08:00) until Thursday 22 June (08:00)
  • The third round of voting: Friday 23 June (08:00) until Saturday 24 June (08:00)
  • The fourth round of voting: Monday June 26th (08:00) until Tuesday, 27 June (08:00)
  • The fifth round of voting: Wednesday 28 June (08:00) until Thursday 29 June (08:00)