Staff and students

CAVElab team 2023

Head of the lab

Prof. dr. ir. Hans Verbeeck


Prof. dr. ir. Kim Calders

Kim Calders

Prof. dr. ir. Marijn Bauters

Marijn Bauters

Scientific staff (Post Doc) 

dr. ir. Félicien Meunier

Profile picture Felicien Meunier

dr. ir. Steven De Hertog

Steven De Hertog

dr. ir. Karun Dayal

Karun Dayal

dr. ir. Louise Terryn

Louise Terryn

Scientific staff (Support)

dr. Kim Jacobsen

Kim Jacobson

MSc. Lodewijk Lefevre


Scientific staff (PhD)

MSc. Xingyan Cao

Xingyan-Cao (2).jpg

ir. Barbara D'hont

Barbara D'hont

MSc. Shilin Chen


ir. Thomas Sibret

Thomas Sibret

MSc. Franklin Geovanny Marin Molina

Franklin_Marín_Picture (2).jpeg

ir. Tom Verhelst


MSc. Inès dos Santos Vieira

Ines Vieira2

MSc. Mengxi Wang

Mengxi (2).jpg

ir. Kasper Coppieters


MSc. Quan Pan


MSc. Xi Peng


ir. Wout Cherlet

Wout Cherlet

ir. Wouter Van den Broeck

Wouter Van den Broeck

MSc. Zane Cooper

Zane Cooper

ir. Emma Van de Walle

Emma Van de Walle

ir. Todi Daelman

Todi Daelman

MSc. Andrea Chávez Pacheco

Andrea Chavez Pacheco


Anabelle Michiels


Faculty of bioscience engineering, Campus Coupure
+32 (0) 9 264 61 36

External scientific staff members

dr. ir. Hannes De Deurwaerder

Hannes De Deurwaerder

Princeton University

dr. ir. Sruthi Krishna Moorthy

Sruthi Moorthy

University of Maryland

dr. ir. Francis Mumbanza Mundondo

Francis Mumbanza Mundondo

dr. Marc Peaucelle

ID Marc Peaucelle

INRAE (Bordeaux, FR)

dr. Wim Verbruggen

Staff Picture Wim Verbruggen

University of Copenhagen

Master students 2023-2024

Warre Demuynck - Analyzing large field-data-bases to gain better understanding on the two major tropical forests of the world

Geike De Sloover - The mysteries of oak growth: Investigating how competition shapes the structure of oak trees

Tielde Ghyselinck - Biomass growth in biodiversity plantings under drought

Ella Van de vreken - Modeling the cork thickness distribution in Portuguese cork oak stands

Sarah Lamotte - Studying the impact of temperature change on the carbon absorption capacity of tropical tree species in the Congo basin forests

Manon Lamond - Light competition between trees and lianas in a tropical forest

Elise Huysman - Light competition between trees and lianas in a tropical forest

Eline De Loore - Title TBD

Former lab members

dr. ir. Jean-François Bastin (Associate Prof. Gembloux, Agro-Biotech)


dr. Manfredo Di Porcia

Manfredo di Porcia

dr. ir. Marie Combe

Marie Combe

dr. ir. Yunfei Bao

Yunfei Bao

dr. ir. Jackie Epila (Lecturer at Lira University, Uganda)

Jackie Epila

dr. ir. Miro Demol

Miro Demol

David Ellsworth (Western Sydney University)


International Collen-Francqui professor 2022-2023

MSc. Tao Chen

TaoChen (2).jpg

dr. Joseph Okello

Joseph Okello

dr. Chang Liu

Photo - Chang Liu (002).jpg