Tenured Academic Staff

Retired Academic Staff

  • Erik Dick (Mach-uniform algorithms, transition models)

Visiting Professor

Supporting staff

PhD students

  • Alec Bagué (Fluid-structure interaction of hydrofoils, at Maritime)
  • Axel Bral (Development of techniques to simulate the interaction between airjets and a flexible, fuzzy yarn)
  • Amith Balusubramanya (Fluid-structure interaction simulations of cardiovascular problems, at IBiTech)
  • Nicolas Boutet (Analytical study of multi-secant quasi-Newton methods for optimization problems, at RMA)
  • Federico Canè (Fluid-structure interaction simulations of heart valves, at IBiTech)
  • Jimmy Colliers (Wind-structure interactions of tensile surface structures, at VUB)
  • Tom De Bruyn (Adjoint optimization of composite blades, at VKI)
  • Nicolas Delaissé (Fluid-structure interaction of elasto-hydrodynamic lubrication)
  • Lucas Delcour (Fluid-structure interaction simulation of the dynamic behavior of a flexible cylinder in supersonic flow)
  • Toon Demeester (Calculating free-surface flow using fluid-structure interaction techniques)
  • Laurent De Moerloose (Two-phase fluid-structure interaction simulations of flow-induced vibration in steam generators and heat exchangers)
  • Henri Dolfen (Fluid-structure interaction simulations and uncertainty quantification of flow-induced vibration in tube bundles)
  • Peyman Havaej (Fluid-structure interaction of elasto-hydrodynamic lubrication, at Soete)
  • Navaneeth Kodunthirappully Narayanan (Computational analysis of fluid-structure interaction in wind engineering)
  • Niels Pynaert (Optimization of flexible aircraft models for airborne wind energy)
  • Kelbij Star (Development of reduced order CFD models for the application of uncertainty quantification, at SCK-CEN)
  • François Trigaux (Aeroelasticity of large wind turbines using LES, at UCLouvain)
  • Matthias Van Impe (Fluid-structure interaction simulations of cardiovascular problems, at IBiTech)
  • Mathieu Vervaecke (Fluid-structure interaction simulation of wire drawing processes)

Former members

  • Alireza Rasekh (Thermal study of axial flux permanent magnet synchronous machines)
  • Jolan Wauters (Development and application of surrogate-assisted optimization under uncertainty strategies for unmanned aerial vehicles)
  • Gilberto Santo (Fluid-structure interaction simulations of wind turbines with composite blades)
  • Mathijs Peeters (Efficient methods for automated conversion of wind turbine blade designs into high-fidelity finite element models with shell and solid elements)
  • Akil Osman (Computational fluid-structure interaction study of the aeroelastic behavior of a wire in transonic and supersonic flows)
  • Iva Papeš (Computational analysis of a twin screw expander for small scale ORC systems)
  • Alessandra Bavo (Integrating valve leaflet motion into patient-specific numerical blood flow simulations of the human heart : strategies and challenges)
  • Jeroen De Ridder (Computational analysis of flow-induced vibrations in fuel rod bundles of next generation nuclear reactors)