Marleen Temmerman elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

(02-05-2022) As only the third Belgian ever, Professor Temmerman has been elected as International Honorary Member to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Professor Marleen Temmerman - gynaecologist, Ghent University researcher and professor, ex-politician - has dedicated her life to improving the rights and lives of women and children, especially in Kenya, where she currently still lives and works. For this she was already internationally reknown, and now the American Academy of Arts and Sciences also honors her for her tireless efforts.

Current members of the Academy represent today’s innovative thinkers in every field and profession, including more than two hundred and fifty Nobel and Pulitzer Prize winners. The fact the Academy elects Professor Temmerman is an honor that signifies the high regard in which she is held by leaders in her field and members throughout the United States.

About the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Founded in 1780 by John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton and George Washington, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences honors excellence and convenes leaders from every field of human endeavor to examine new ideas, address issues of importance to the nation and the world, and work together, as expressed in their charter, “to cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people.” Their studies have helped set the direction of research and analysis in science and technology policy, global security and international affairs, social policy, education, and the arts and humanities.

With the election, Professor Temmerman joins the company of notable members. Earlier on the membership list contained names as Alexander Graham Bell, John F. Kennedy, Martin Luther King, and Madeleine Albright. International Honorary Members have included Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein, Winston Churchill, Wislawa Szymborska, Laurence Olivier, Mary Leakey, Gabriel Garcia Márquez, Akira Kurosawa, and Nelson Mandela.

The Induction ceremony will take place in Cambridge, MA, on a date to be determined in 2023.

Ghent University warmly congratulates Professor Temmerman on her election to the Academy.