In the third year of the standard learning track (BA3) of the History study programme, you will make a choice between the History track and the Educational track. Within the History track you can choose from a selection of seven minors. Taking a minor other than these seven is not allowed.

Once you have made your choice of a minor, you will select (at least) 15 course units from that minor. In doing so, you need to take into account the starting competencies of the different course units (to be found in the course sheets).

Think carefully when choosing a minor. It may be relevant for additional studies after your Bachelor's or Master's degree in History. In that case, it is best to choose course units in function of a consecutive preparatory programme. For example, with a minor in Political and Social Sciences, you can often count on a number of exemptions within various preparatory programmes. This also applies to the other minors. So make sure you are well informed (by the learning track counsellor of these study programmes) before making a choice.

The following minors are offered within the study programme History (more information via the study guide):

  • Minor in Archaeology
  • Minor in African Studies
  • Minor in Art Studies
  • Minor in Classical Civilization and the Classical Tradition
  • Minor in Political and Social Sciences
  • Minor in Law Studies
  • Minor in Economics and Business Management