Webinar & Book launch | Revisiting Paulo Freire’s “Pedagogy of the Oppressed”

When
14-10-2020 from 21:00 to 22:30
Language
English
Add to my calendar

Wednesday, October 14th

  • 09:00 PM CEST
  • 07:00 PM UTC
  • 03:00 PM EDT 
  • 04:00 PM Brasil 

    Wednesday, October 15th

    • 02:00 AM JST

     

    Webinar

    This reflection on Paulo Freire’s seminal volume, Pedagogy of the Oppressed, examines the lessons learnt from Freire and their place in contemporary pedagogical theory and practice. Freire’s work has inspired ground-breaking research which Vandenbroeck has collated, demonstrating the ongoing influence on early childhood educators.

    Vandenbroeck brings together an international cohort of early childhood experts to present cross-cultural perspectives on the impact of Freire’s research on education around the globe. This book covers discussions on:

    • The background to and impact of Freire’s work
    • Alternative approaches to supporting child development
    • Pedagogical approaches in Portugal, South Africa, Japan, New Zealand, the United States and Brazil

    Vandenbroeck concludes with a vision for theorising and implementing emancipatory practice in early childhood education in contexts of neoliberalism.

    An insightful resource for academics and students in the field of Early Childhood Education and Care, Revisiting Paulo Freire’s Pedagogy of the Oppressed is a benchmark of the progress made in the field over the last half a century.

     

    Program

    1. Introduction to the Contesting Early Childhood Series by Alison Foyle, Routledge
    2. Introduction to the book by Michel Vandenbroeck, coordinating editor (Ghent University)
    3. Comments from Brazil by Anete Abramowicz (University of São Paulo) & Ligia Leão de Aquino (University of the State of Rio de Janeiro
    4. Comments from Portugal by Augusto Pinheiro (educational psychologist)
    5. Comments from South Africa by Bekisiswe Ndimande (University of Texas at San Antonio)
    6. Comments from the U.S. by Mark Nagasawa (Bank Street College of Education)
    7. Comments from Japan by Sachiko Kitano (Kobe University)
    8. Comments from Australia by Sue Grieshaber (La Trobe University)
    9. Conclusions by Michel Vandenbroeck (Ghent University)
    10. Q&A

     

    Join the webinar