Faculty of Law


The Faculty provides academic teaching and services based on innovative scientific research.

The education within these programmes is supported by the innovative scientific research performed within the 3 faculty departments encompassing all possible disciplines within the fields of law and criminological sciences.


The Faculty of Law is housed in the Universiteitstraat, where it all began for Ghent University in 1817.


The Ghent University was founded by royal decree in 1816 and opened its doors in 1817. The Faculty of Law was one of the four original faculties. (The royal decree also proposed a fifth faculty, Godsgeleerdheid (Theology), which was never realised.)

The first part of the faculty's history, from its inception to 1940, was published in 2009.