About the faculty

How to reach us
The Faculty of veterinary Medicine has 12 departments and is located in Merelbeke near Ghent, close by exit Merelbeke (16) on the motorway E40 Ghent-Brussels

The Faculty of veterinary Medicine was founded in 1933 as the "veeartsenijschool", the  second veterinary school in Belgium, the first one where students were taught in their own language: Flemish (Dutch)



Historical location of the first veterinary school

Dean's office


The Dean's office is the secretarial department of the faculty, featuring student administration, education quality control and ordnance.


Psychological welfare unit