About the Doctoral Schools

Five Doctoral Schools

Five Doctoral Schools support doctoral students during their research training at Ghent University: Arts, Humanities and Law; Social and Behavioural Sciences; Natural Sciences; (Bioscience) Engineering; and Life Sciences and Medicine

You can find a more in-depth look at the structure of the Doctoral Schools in this visual explainer.

Our mission

The Doctoral Schools have a three-fold mission:

  • to increase the international and social value of the doctorate from the perspective of potential researchers as well as from a labour-market point of view,
  • to enhance the support provided to doctoral students in the course of their doctorate research,
  • to strengthen a quality culture in (doctoral) research.

We have outlined our strategy for the next five years in our strategic policy plan 2019-2024.

Career support

The Doctoral Schools organise a wide range of labour market initiatives preparing doctoral students for their future careers.

The Department of Personnel and Organization offers career coaching for (post)doctoral researchers

International mobility

Funding opportunities for incoming and outgoing international mobility:

Quality assurance

Our privacy policy

Check our policy with regard to data and film/photo.




    Logo Interreg - Transuniv