Prof. dr. Sarne De Vliegher



Nominaties en prijzen

  • 2013: Nominated for the Hermes award, Ghent University
  • 2015: Journal of Dairy Science most-cited award in Physiology and Management (De Vliegher et al., 2012. Invited Review: Mastitis in Dairy Heifers: Nature of the Disease, Potential Impact, Prevention and Control. J. Dairy Sci. 95:1025-1040; doi:10.3168/jds.2011-4074.
  • 2018: Westagro, Inc Award American Dairy Science Association   


  • DVM (UGent, Belgium), 1998
  • Judicial expert (UGent, Belgium), 2003
  • PhD in Veterinary Science (UGent, Belgium), 2004
  • Master of Science in Veterinary Epidemiology and Animal Health Economics (Utrecht University, The Netherlands), 2004
  • Laboratory Animal Science FELASA-C (UGent, Belgium), 2006
  • Diplomate European College of Veterinary Public Health, 2006

Bijkomende opleidingen

  • Basics of statistical inference (UGent, Belgium)
  • Analysis of variance, regression analysis (UGent, Belgium)
  • Multilevel modeling (University of Prince Edward Island, AVC, Canada)
  • Parametric analysis of continuous and discrete data (UGent, Belgium)
  • Categorical data-analysis (UGent, Belgium)
  • Longitudinal data-analysis (UGent, Belgium)
  • Experimental study design (UGent, Belgium)
  • Management skills (EHSAL Management School, Brussels, Belgium)
  • Management, marketing, and communication for veterinarians (Wageningen Business School, The Netherlands)
  • Top Veterinary (AUV - UHasselt and UGent)


PhD defended 26 November 2004

  • Title: Udder health in dairy heifers: some epidemiological and microbiological aspects
  • Promotors: Prof. dr. Dr. h.c. A. de Kruif, PhD, Dipl. ECAR, Department of Obstetrics, Reproduction and Herd Health, Ghent University, Belgium and Prof. dr. H.W. Barkema, PhD, University of Calgary, Canada
  • Copromotor: Prof. dr. G. Opsomer, PhD, MSc, Dipl. ECAR, Dipl. ECBHM, Department of Obstetrics, Reproduction and Herd Health, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Ghent University, Belgium

PhD students

  • Reshat Jashari, Bach. VM (Use of somatic cell count information) - with S. Piepers (UGent)
  • Dimitri Valckenier, MVetMed (The role of coagulase-negative staphylococci in bovine mastitis) - with S. Piepers (UGent)
  • Zyncke Lipkens, MVetMed (Selective dry cow management) with S. Piepers (UGent)
  • Ameline Wuytack, MVetMed (coagulase-negative staphylococci in bovine mastitis)
  • Bruno Toledo Silva, MVetMed (coagulase-negative staphylococci in bovine mastitis)
  • Igor Van Den Brulle, MVetMed (milk yield losses and recovery after clinical mastitis)



ECVPH interns and residents

2014-2015 Ameline Wuytack, MVetMed
2011-2012 Dimitri Valckenier, MVetMed



  • Dr. Fernando Nogueira de Souza, Brasil, Phd, Postdoc
  • Guilherme Santana de Moura, Brazil, PhD student
  • Michel Flavia, Brazil, PhD student
  • Prof. dr. Greg Keefe, Atlantic Veterinary College, Canada
  • Fernando Nogueira de Souza, Brasil, PhD student
2012 Prof. dr. Petra Zrimsek, Clinic for Reproduction and Horses, Veterinary Faculty, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
2009-2010 Prof. dr. Ynte Schukken, Cornell University, US (Francqui Chair)



  • Veterinary law and deontology
  • Veterinary practice management
  • Udder health and milk quality
  • Postgraduate courses
    • Udder health and milk quality
    • Veterinary law and deontology
    • Veterinary epidemiology



Member of the Faculty board, representative of the junior and senior research scientists (2006-2008)

Secretary of the Health Safety Environment Committee (2006-present)

Supervisor of health and well-being of the laboratory animals (2004-2012)


Advisory board IKM/QFL/QMK (2010-present)

Advisory board Codiplan (2010-2013)

Belvetex (Belgian Veterinarian Experts) (2004-present)

Chair of the Boehringer Ingelheim udder health forum Belgium (2012-present)

Flemish Society for Veterinary Epidemiology and Economics (FSVEE)

Editorial board of O24Vets, Newsletter on Veterinary Law and Practice Management (Story Publishers) (2010-2013)


National Mastitis Council (US)

  • International advisory committee (2006-2013) (Chair 2012-2013)
  • Research committee (2008-2013)

European Mastitis Panel (MSD Animal Health)

Global Milk Quality Expert Forum (Boehringer Animal Health)