Prof. dr. S.J.L. De Laet (1914-1999)

Sigfried Jan L. De Laet was professor at the department from 1947 to 1984. He finished his PhD in 1936, entitled “De samenstelling van den Romeinschen Senaat gedurende de eerste eeuw van het principaat (28 v. – 68 na Kr.) en de politieke houding van de keizers tegenover deze hoge vergadering” after which he became an FWO ‘aspirant’ (1942-1943) and later assistent at the department (1943-1947).  His research dealt with a wide range of themes within the national archaeology, from the Neolithic tot the Middle Ages, with a strong focus on the Metal Ages and the Roman Times. He was active in dozens of excavations, a.o. in Blicquy (Gallo-Roman) and Destelbergen (late Bronze Age to Gallo-Roman). His book ‘Archaeology and its problems’ (1957) is translated in 7 languages; his ‘Prehistorische kulturen in het zuiden der Lage Landen’ (1974) was translated into French (La Belgique d’avant les Romains’, 1982). S.J. De Laet was promotor of over 50 licentiate students and about a dozen of PhD students.

Prof. dr. L. Baron De Meyer (1928-2006)

Leon Baron De Meyer was rector at Ghent University from 1985 to 1993. He was an excellent specialist of cuneiform script and of Mesopotamian culture in general. He did archaeological research in Iraq from 1979 onwards, as expedition leader in Sippar-Amnanum (Tell Ed-Dêr, Iraq), where about 2400 cuneiform tablets were discovered.

Based on his research, he was able to build a correct time table for the Babylonian Empire. In 1998, it was discovered that the fall of Babylon should be dated to 1499 BC, caused by a raid by the Hittites.


Prof. dr. J. De Meulemeester (1946-2009)

Johnny De Meulemeester






Prof. dr. J. Devreker (°1943)

John Devreker






Prof. dr. E. Haerinck (°1949-2016)

Ernie Haerinck






Prof. dr. R.A. Lunsingh Scheurleer (°1945)

Robert Lunsingh Scheurleer






Prof. dr. H. Mussche (1928-2014)

Herman Mussche






Prof. dr. J.A.E. Nenquin (1925-2003)

Jacques A.E. Nenquin






Prof. dr. H.F. Thoen (°1941)

Hugo F. Thoen






Prof. dr. L. Vanden Berghe (1923-1993)

Louis Vanden Berghe