History of the collection L32

The foundation of the German Literature collection was built by Herman Uyttersprot, who managed the collection from 1945 until 1967. His research focused on, among others, Heinrich Heine, Heinrich von Kleist and Rainer Maria Rilke.

Herman Uyttersprot

Edward Verhofstadt and Jaak De Vos managed the collection after that, from 1967 until 1992 and from 1992 until 2010 respectively. Lucrèce Cornelis (1962-2004) and Wendy Lelievre (2004-2011) were formerly responsible for the library.

In the context of funding, further expansion and classification of the collection, making standard works available was a priority for the departmental library.

The classification system, combining a chronological and a systematic classification, was developed by Swiss staff member Karl Grob in the early 1970s. The sections on the Middle Ages and the Early Modern Age traditionally fall under Alte Deutsche Literatur (ADL / Old German Literature) and belong to the collection of German Linguistics (L38) along with Deutsche Sprache und Linguistik (DSL / German Linguistics). The auxiliary disciplines include the philosophers Marx, Engels, Kant, Fichte, Schopenhauer, Adorno, Habermas, Hegel, Schelling, Heidegger, Luhmann, Sloterdijk etc. Nietzsche, however, is part of the literary studies section 19 (19NIE).

Blandijnberg, 2011.
Blandijnberg, 2011.

In the autumn of 2011, the collection was transferred to the Faculty Library of Arts and Philosophy.

Met een lift op de binnenkoer Rozier. Januari 2012.
Lift at Rozier courtyard, January 2012.

Part of the collection was then stored in the depot (mainly less topical works).

Faculteitsbibliotheek 2012.
Faculteitsbibliotheek 2012.

Faculty Library 2012.