Research centres



Bioinformatics Institute Ghent from nucleotides to networks (N2N)

Prof. Yves Van de Peer

CAPTURE, capturing alternative resources

Prof. Korneel Rabaey

Cel begeleiding Karkasclassificatie  (Dutch only)

Prof. Stefaan De Smet

Centre Environmental Science and Technology

Prof. Karel De Schamphelaere

Center for Nano- and Biophotonics (NB Photonics)

Prof. Roel Baets

Center for Microbial Ecology and Technology (CMET)

Prof. Nico Boon

Prof. Korneel Rabaey

Prof. Tom Van de Wiele

Center of Pharmaco(epi)genomics NXTGNT

Prof. Dieter Deforce

Prof. Wim Van Criekinge

Centre for Sustainable Development

Prof. Patrick Van Damme

Centre for Sustainable Pharmaceutical Engineering (CESPE)

Dr. Wouter De Soete

Centre for Synthetic Biology (CSB)
Prof. Marjan De Mey
Centre for X-ray Tomography (UGCT)

Prof. Veerle Cnudde

Prof. Joris Van Acker

Prof. Luc Van Hoorebeke


Prof. Frank Devlieghere

Forest and Nature Lab (ForNaLab) Prof. Kris Verheyen
Gents Afrika Platform (GAP) Prof. Patrick Van Damme
Ghent Gut Inflammation Group (GGIG) Prof. Tom Van de Wiele
Ghent Interdisciplinary centre for Art and Science Prof. Maximiliaan Martens
Institute of Plant Biotechnology Outreach Prof. Godelieve Gheysen
Isotope Bioscience Laboratory (ISOFYS)

Prof. Pascal Boeckx

Laboratory for Animal Nutrition and Animal Product Quality

Prof. Stefaan De Smet

Prof. Veerle Fievez

Laboratory of Aquaculture & Artemia Reference Center Prof. Patrick Sorgeloos
Centre for Industrial Biotechnology and Biocatalysis (InBio) Prof. Wim Soetaert
Laboratory of Crop Protection Chemistry Prof. Pieter Spanoghe
Laboratory of Environmental Toxicology and Aquatic Ecology (GhEnToxLab)

Prof. Karel De Schamphelaere

Prof. Peter Goethals

Prof. Colin Janssen

Hydro-Climate Extremes Lab (H-CEL)

Prof. Niko Verhoest

Laboratory of Phytopathology Prof. Monica Höfte
Laboratory of Plant Ecology Prof. Kathy Steppe

Research group soil spatial inventory techniques (ORBit)

Prof. Marc Van Meirvenne

UGent Aquaculture R&D consortium

Prof. Patrick Sorgeloos

UGent Marine Sciences Center of Excellence (Marine@UGent)

Prof. Colin Janssen

UNESCO Chair on Eremology

Prof. Wim Cornelis
Woodlab Prof. Joris Van Acker