About us

22 March 2018: Staff of the department of Solid State Sciences

The Department of Solid State Sciences has emerged from the former “Laboratory of Crystallography and Study of the Solid State”, also called the “Laboratory Dekeyser”, after its founder Prof. Willy Dekeyser. Under his guidance in the 50-70’s of the previous century, the laboratory has given an importance boost to the development of solid state physics at the UGent and in Flanders, leading to well-known important scientific evolutions and numerous applications in modern society.

The department WE04 still has an important position among the 14 departments of the Faculty of Sciences with respect to education, fundamental research, applied research and service to the community. Its 60-70 collaborators contribute to numerous scientific research projects, within as well as outside the academic world. The department has a wide range of modern (often large-scale) research infrastructure and a longstanding tradition of collaboration with industry without neglecting fundamental solid state research though. The physics research has gradually and naturally been extended towards other (applied) sciences with a prominent role for the Department of Chemistry (WE06).

At present the department counts 6 research groups mainly active in the synthesis and study of functional thin layers and nanostructures, and the optical and magnetic characterization of defects.

    • CoCooN focuses on all levels of thin film devices, from deposition to their different applications after extensive characterization.
    • DiSC studies defects in semiconductors with the aid of FT-IR and DLTS.
    • DRAFT is specialized in the experimental study and modelling of magnetron deposition.
    • DyNaMat focuses on research on the dynamics of functional (magnetic) nanomaterials.
    • The EMR group mainly analyses paramagnetic defects in solids using EPR and ENDOR spectroscopy.
    • LUMILAB mainly investigates new materials for photoluminescence.